May, be better

Hurrah!

April felt like a mush of busy/ tired/ sore. Grumpy McGrump ruled. My weight loss got scared by the approach of the target, and reverted to ‘on a bit, off a bit, on a bit’- pah. That wasn’t the only self imposed target I missed. April felt full of ‘failure’.

I’m done with all that. (Yes, of course I can just will myself to be healthy, thin and successful…)

May will have sunshine, peonies, visits to the caravan, and many beaches.

Fintra, Donegal

I will be better at planning. I will stop putting my hand up for extra tasks. I will do what I can, when I can. That is good enough.

My birthday is at the end of May, so there will be cake. Lots and lots of cake.

yum

My inbox today has greeetings from shops, offering birthday ‘rewards’ for shopping with them.

Cake, beaches, shopping and sunshine.

Bring it on.

13 thoughts on “May, be better

  1. Happy Birthday Month, Fiona! There’s nothing wrong with making your birthday month all about you. I am looking forward to hearing about what you buy, where you go and especially what kind of cake(s) you have. 🙂

  2. I hope for you lots of cake and beaches, maybe at the same time! It’s horrible, the other side of easy, sunny beaches–the crashes. So because of that, I wish you extra sand in your cakes.

    Happy Birthday Season!

  3. You just don’t know how yo say NO,NO, Say it over and over and you will remember the word, says she who needs you on drip feed. Enjoy tomorrow. eat cake, happy birthday month.

  4. Oh, honey. Yes, please! May will be better. It will have sunshine and flowers and free time and joy. Yes, let’s have lots and LOTS of that and call it spring….. It snowed here, this morning and my crew is full of snot. I have to believe spring will get here, one day. Thanks for the warmth and the smile!

  5. May will be better, I just feel it with you! And I am looking forward to the return of your caravan adventures! More sunshine does make a body feel a lot better, that’s a fact! 🙂

  6. I love that cake. I love that you are not going to raise your hand to take on more tasks. I love that May will find you knowing when “good enough” rather than “good’ is perfectly acceptable … took me too long to learn that.

  7. Happy May too you!! I too am willing May to be a better month, although I think you’ll probably be more successful than me as I’ll be taking Trigonometry via Independent Study. I unfortunately do not have the option of saying “No!” But maybe I can live vicariously through you as you learn to revel in your freedom to say, “I’ve done enough thank you.”

    Oh, and here’s a pre-emptive hippo birdie two ewes!

what do you think?