building excitement

Scaffolding & social media

Big IF

Posters & plants

Plam House, Botanic Gardens, Belfast

This is where it’s happening today.

An event in the local park, to mark the G8.

“What are we protesting about now, Mummy?”

This time we’re encouraging. No ranting and raving, just happy times and bonded smiley people saying things like “Excuse me chaps (and Angela), sorry for bothering you, but we have something really quite important to say. We may or may not be anti capitalist, anti war, anonymous sorts, but today we’re here to hold hands, sing and dance and encourage you to think about the really marvellous things you could do about world hunger if you put your minds to it.”

The IF campaign says “There are 1 billion hungry people in the world today, and we are saying that there is Enough Food For Everyone

  • IF we give enough aid to stop children dying from hunger, and help the poorest people feed themselves through investment in small farmers;
  • IF we stop big companies dodging taxes on the profits they make overseas, so that the poorest countries have the resources and infrastructure to free themselves of hunger;
  • IF we stop poor farmers being forced off their land and use the available agricultural land to grow food for people, not to grow biofuels for cars;
  • IF we force governments and big corporations to be honest and open about the actions they take that stop people getting enough food.”
found on pinterest http://pinterest.com/pin/571112796466507975/
found on pinterest http://pinterest.com/pin/571112796466507975/

A worthy, fun event practically on our dooorstep- of course we’re going.

But it was only on Thursday night that I noticed something. Look at the list of participants. Have you spotted the one who made me squeak with excitement?

I am as giddy as Girl1 is at the thought of seeing One Direction.

People, I’m off to see Seamus Heaney today.

15 thoughts on “building excitement

  1. A friend of Cousin’s is friends with Seamus. They used to gather potatoes together as children. Can you imagine how awed I felt to know he had sat in the same kitchen, possibly on the same chair that I sat on! Have a great day. :)

      1. Ah, yes that would be a touch disappointing, lovely though Jim Broadbemt is.
        I went to a thing at the BM once where Derek Jacobu was supposed to be the host. He was ill. It was Sandi Toksvig instead. Normally I am a fan of hers but I couldn’t help feeling let down.

    1. Enjoyable, peaceful, cold and soggy. The event lasted longer than the patience of the girls, who were getting v miserable. Now we are home, warm and fed, and they are having great fun battling with the IF noisy wavy props :)

  2. Jenny and I were planning to go to the Botanic Gardens, but after going on the march to City Hall and having been rained on steadily for a couple of hours, we decided to call it a day and go home. Sorry we missed you….

    1. Nick, you weren’t the only ones… I would say only about a quarter of the expected crowd braved the rain- a large number of them from Scotland! There were NO hangers on/ looking for trouble folk, and the barricaded university was unmolested, unvisited and slightly ridiculous looking

    1. Elspeth, does your sister look a lot like you? A woman walked past me at one point who put me in mind of you; if only I’d thought to leap in front of her and demand to know who she was…

  3. I had threatened to spend my day protesting/showing solidarity at the event in the park. But then it rained. I’m such a fairweather rebel! And I’in awe of those who braved our summer Saturday!

  4. Oh, my, let me count the times my daughter has asked me, “So what are we marching against today, madre?” I love that our girls are learning to stand up for what is right and good. They are so much more fearless than we were, I think.

    1. Also, protesting is easier here now, Yvonne. I remember being brought to a Peace People rally in the mid 70s, but after that it was pretty much ‘head down, don’t draw attention to yourself’ until we were revolting students :)

      1. Ah… “Of the “wee six” I sing
        Where to be saved you only must save face
        And whatever you say, you say nothing.”
        I kind of felt that way when I was recently chastized for not being proud of “my heritage!””

          1. Oh, i wrote about it in that last post about the bonfires. I mean, politics notwithstanding, I just have no time for the things that drive great big wedges between people …

what do you think?

