731 days

Well, get us. We’ve made it thus far, just by getting on. Putting one foot in front of the other.

family b&w

You knew we’d manage.

You knew the pain would dull around the edges, that the physical pain would fade from my chest.

You knew that there would still be days when I’d waken, lost and confused. Still be days when I’d cry.

But then, we’re criers- you’d expect nothing else. I never did learn to drip discreetly, in an unblotchy fashion. I sniffle and snort, and scare the dog.

You’re still pushing me on- upward and outward.

found at: http://seekingthesouth.tumblr.com/post/42433027311
found at: http://seekingthesouth.tumblr.com/post/42433027311

Thanks, Ma.

(2012 was a leap year)

15 thoughts on “731 days

    1. Helen, you’ve reminded me of my dad’s funeral…. We still lived in Enniskillen and in the chaos of readers, carriers, gift bearers etc, we’d simply forgotten about music until we entered the chapel in silence. Most odd. At that point my mum whispered “we should have asked Mrs Hamill to sing…” :)

what do you think?

