interminable half term update

With teacher training days attached on either end-different schools, different days, of course- the half term break in our house is lasting almost a fortnight. (Feel for Spurs Fan who just got two days, despite working much harder at school than either of his children.)

We’ve had two days of dancing competitions, lots of transfer test practise, Hallowe’en pumpkins and dressing up, a trip into town to queue up outside the fancy dress shop, building with sugar cubes at the museum, fast food, a cold, cold, cold trip to the caravan, a lot of sleeping, and some filming.

Not a bit wonder I’m tired.

Oh, sorry, bloggy buddies, do you want more? Detail? Information? Pictures?

Girl1 & pumpkin

Girl 2 & pumpkin

this IS dressing up for Hallowe'en
this IS dressing up for Hallowe’en

sugar cubes Ulster Museum

sugar cubes Ulster Museum

collaborative art

Enough of the sweetness, speccy. Filming?

Some months ago I gave a talk at an event run by RCGP. There were doctors and palliative care workers, people living with illness, researchers and volunteers. My talky bit was partly personal- about Herself and how we coped with her illness, partly wider issues of living with rare disease. Done and dusted. Everything I have to say said. Job done.

Until an email arrived a few weeks ago… Would I be prepared to talk on film about some of the issues? There’d be other talking heads. I’d only have to make two or three points. Big mouth strikes again. That pesky mother of mine, finally succeeding in pushing me out of my comfort zone. She’s laughing in the ether, happy that I remembered to put the make up on and iron the frock.

By Friday morning I was practically hyperventilating. Who will get to see this? Why did I say yes? Is it too late to opt out? Eeek.

not intimidating at all

not missing out

bright lights

I burbled on. The film maker wanted several ‘takes’ of my answers. If only I could remember what I’d just said…

I’ll let you know when it’s on YouTube. Jake may make a sneaky appearance, so we’re bound to go viral.

10 thoughts on “interminable half term update

  1. Oh you just must let us know when it’s up on YouTube, Fiona! I am sure you did just fine. It’s such a personal conversation for you and you know what you’re talking about. Editors do help smooth out the rough bits. :-) Your daughters are just beautiful and growing up too fast, I’m sure. It’s nice to see them having fun with pumpkins and sugar cube building–a little whimsy–like their Mum with her skeleton hosiery! I thoroughly enjoyed each photo!

  2. I can’t wait to see it, Fiona. I really enjoyed your last foray on the panel in Dublin. You are too hard on yourself, and I am certain even Herself would say so. The place looked great, and so did you. (and the girls.)

what do you think?

