I quite like the songs

Tim Minchin’s White Wine in the Sun critiques the western commercial Christmas and religious institutions, but captures beautifully the potential warmth, caring and community of the holiday. It will never be everyone’s favourite, but I go all sniffly and gooey when I hear it.

I’ve never come across a more joyful version of Joy to the World than that by the Supremes. I sing along loudly, conduct passing strangers and fancy myself as Diana Ross. I have stop- no moping about, reading or boring housework when this comes on. Drop all and join me.

The long term reader may remember that I am a fan of Tracey Thorn. Her Christmas album Tinsel and Lights is fabulous- any track will do. Oh to have a voice like that.

There always has to be room for fun and irreverence. Did you know about the reindeer Joey and Chandler?  Or Jesus the reindeer? This song has livened up a few journeys recently.

Whatever is going on in your world, no matter how different this holiday time is from those gone before, find the things you can enjoy, and hold on tight to them. If singing loudly works for you, then deafen us all. Warm thoughts and virtual hugs all round.

Merry Christmas one and all.

12 thoughts on “I quite like the songs

  1. This is really lovely, Fiona. As I do my best to get caught up–I hate to miss a thing–I’m so glad to find your musical selections. Except for the Supremes all others are totally new to me! I a delighted for the introduction. I collect music, even Christmas music, year-round, so I am going to see what I can do! ox

what do you think?

