working?

I used to miss a lot about full time work- the independence, the connections, the doing something useful, the gossip, the friendship. Turns out I now get some of those from volunteering and playing on the internet.

What I really don’t miss about work is the politics. The battling for position, the ‘my way or no way’, the begrudery and the sniping. Turns out I can get some of these by playing on the internet. I’d have expected some of it when volunteering, after all  surely it’s not the payment; it’s the human condition…

not me at work

Happily, I have been surprised. Maybe I’m an innocent or not fully ‘in the loop’. Turns out I’m happy about that.

I’m not as confident as I used to be. I don’t have the energy I’d like. I get aches and pains and mood swings, and I have cotton wool for brains. Are you sure you don’t want to give me a job?

5 thoughts on “working?”

  1. ‘I don’t have the energy I’d like. I get aches and pains and mood swings, and I have cotton wool for brains.’

    I thought you were describing me for a moment! Just you wait until you reach my age! 😉

  2. Hi. Found you, thanks to Grannymar.

    I hope you really enjoy it.

    By the way, you sound like most most of our office in the afternoons. you could totally get a job there.

    1. I’m hoping my linking skills are improving and that you can find me again without having to send out a search party!
      A woman of many talents, that Grannymar.

  3. I’m convinced moodswings, cotton wool for brains & the ability to talk endlessly about aches & pains were essential criteria to get a job in our place. You’d get in here no problem.

what do you think?

