it’s that time of year again

I have pale Irish skin. So white it’s blue Irish skin.

The sun hates my skin- it goes red and blotchy, sometimes swells up and turns purple, and burns. A few days later my skin reverts to white, and the whole performance begins over again.

SPF50+ stops the burning, and keeps me deathly white. Any stray inch of unsuncreened ankle or toe will burn, just to remind me that, even when I think I’m covered up, the shade is always the better option.

Every April I think I’ll get it right this year. I’ll do the subtle, moisturising fake tan and I’ll do it right. My exposed lower legs and arms will not dazzle drivers nor cause any traffic accidents this year.

I usually get fed up with this plan about 1/8 of the way through the bottle. Brown blotches don’t look any better than red or purple ones. I don’t cover quite enough skin. I leave finger marks. It’s always a mess and I can never be bothered to persevere. I revert to blue whiteness and scaring the public being a laughing stock.

This weekend I bought ‘Dove summer glow and soft shimmer’.  Hmmm. I’ll let you know how I get on. You may need shades.

6 thoughts on “it’s that time of year again”

  1. You have just described what happens to me come Summer every single year. Like you I vow to use a gradual tanning moisturiser but I too get bored and give up with most of the bottle left. I’m just gonna have to get used to my paleness (read pasty white and blue).

  2. Not to be off-putting or anything – I used the Dove stuff last year (or was it two years ago??) with absolutely no effect. I suppose psychologically I felt like a tanned person. The mirror gave its own, unforgiving, story – even though I persevered, there was no discernible skin tone change throughout the usage of a whole bottle!!

  3. I’m so against fake tan that there’s never yet been held a protest march against it without me waving the front banner. Hurrah for your blue whiteness.

  4. re last post , ‘Ne’er cast a clout till May be out’ ??
    ..my skin hates the sun too, it comes out in a rash , a greek doctor once told me i had very ‘sensible’ skin , i thought he might have meant sensitive but on reflection i think he’s right….

  5. Love, love, love the sun. Can’t wait to bask & potter in the garden. And lancome flash bronzer and the clarins face one will be ready as back up for the emergency “oh god I’m white but I don’t want to be orange” occasions. And then I’m streaky…

what do you think?

