a little ramble about holidays

It’s exhausting, this holiday lark, especially when you add in bereavement, grief, socializing, long hours in the car, ME… Not that I’m complaining (there’s a first!), time just relaxing in Cornwall was wonderful; but I’d love a Star Trek type teleporter that simply transports me to/ from my own bed.

The holiday was truncated but filled with busyness and company. Sometimes I welcomed that; other times I could have seen it far enough. I liked being away from my own world; I wanted to curl up and mope on my sofa. I enjoyed the company; I wanted to be in my own world. I didn’t have to think about my mother’s health the whole time; I wanted to talk about her all the time. I didn’t have to look for Chanel No5 in duty free; I walked round with a £50 bottle of perfume in my sweaty palm for about 10 minutes before I could put it back on the shelf.

You’ll be relieved to hear that there are sunny holiday posts coming up; it was far from being gloom and doom. There was actual sunshine, and swimming, and lazing, and wine drinking.

There was cake.

There was playing.

There was fancy dress. (Happily, no images of me dressed in a football shirt exist.)

little miss belfast
cowboy witch
Nana Montana

All my grumbling about travelling hides the fact that going away is well worth the effort. Go now.

5 thoughts on “a little ramble about holidays”

  1. Hi! Spekky! I’m sorry but I’ve tagged you on my blog.
    Which is a real cheek since I only read your blog the other day….

    1. Macy, cheek is always welcome round here 😉 Thanks for the tag, though it may take me a while to find 7 posts worth rereading- I still feel very new at this!

  2. Holidays can be exhilarating and exhausting at the same time. It is nice to get away for a break, but somehow, coming home to a bacon buttie and your own bed cannot be beaten!

  3. I’ve come to the conclusion that most of us feel a bit ambivalent in company. Yes, we enjoy the company and the chat and the laughs, but there’s always a little bit of us that also longs to be at home, curled up on the sofa with our favourite book and favourite music, simply doing our own thing. It seems impossible to just wholeheartedly enjoy the moment.

    Btw, am I the only one who has difficulty accessing your photos? I have to click on the little box and then the picture rolls down very slowly and finally shrinks in size. It takes quite a long time to see all the photos!

what do you think?

