starstruck!

We followed the shiny stars on the ground, pushed through the grand doors, and entered a new world. Starstruck, at the Ulster Museum. A brief walk away, but a different world. A world of television and film finery. An exhibition of costumes from historical drama. We three pottered around, awestruck at the creations and the teeniness of the waists required. We wondered about what sort of character may have worn that dress; why George VI had a shirt and tie while Charles II was distinctly more flamboyant. We noted the contrast between the clothes worn by the servants and the aristocracy in Downton Abbey. Most of all, the clothes were fabulous.

worn by Drew Barrymore in Ever After: A Cinderella Story
Girls 1 and 2 were struck by the children's outfits
worn by Helen Mirren in Elizabeth I
Downton Abbey costumes
worn by Heath Ledger in Casanova

We took the pics. I bought the catalogue. I’ll hunt out the films. I’ve finally watched the Downton Abbey DVD box set. Fancy frocks are my new obsession.

If only I could sew.

9 thoughts on “starstruck!”

    1. Dear xtrekki, apologies to Speccy for replying to you on her lovely and important post about garments, but I could find no email address for you and wondered whether there is a way for people without wordpress accounts to comment on your blog?

      1. Mise – I was having much the same problem commenting on your blog and really can’t tell if I have ever managed to do so yet. As for commenting on my blog – I don’t think you have to have a wordpress account to comment on my musings, I think you can simply reply in the reply box. Or, indeed, subscribe via the ‘subscribe’ box. But, as I have mentioned before, I’m a technological illiterate so not really the person to be giving advice on such specialized subjects!

  1. You should Grannymar, though soon. I think it finishes this month.

    Kate, it was a super morning and the girls were hugely impressed.

    Macy, what are the chances? A friend is signing me up for monthly tours of art galleries and other exhibitions, so I’m going to be very informed and learned!

  2. Oh my! Monthly tours of all manner of exhibitions/cultural things. I am going to learn so much through your blog. And the return of Downton Abbey is imminent – the lovely Mr Bates. On a different note, I too am challenged by the comment thing on Xtrekki’s blog. I signed up to wordpress (no blog though), sometimes that works ok, sometimes I have to work a bit harder. I think if I had an ipad everything would be so much easier.

what do you think?

