old time family favourites, # 2

The Old Woman of the Roads, by Padraic Colum

Oh, to have a little house!

to own the hearth and stool and all!

The heaped up sods upon the fire,

The pile of turf against the wall!

.

.

To have a clock with weights and chains

And pendulum swinging up and down,

A dresser filled with shining delph,

Speckled and white and blue and brown!

.

.

I could be busy all the day

Cleaning and sweeping the hearth and floor,

And fixing on their shelf again

My white and blue and speckled store!

.

.

I could be quiet there at night

Beside the fire and by myself,

Sure of a bed and loath to leave

The ticking clock and the shining delph!

.

.

Och, but I’m weary of mist and dark,

And roads where there’s never a house nor bush,

And tired I am of bog and road

And the crying wind and the lonesome hush!

.

.

And I am praying to God on high

And I am praying him night and day,

For a little house, a house of my own,

Out of the wind’s and the rain’s way.

Apologies for the rubbish layout, folks. I haven’t worked out how to persuade wordpress that I actually want spaces.

3 thoughts on “old time family favourites, # 2”

what do you think?

