use what you need

My head is busy. Full of half thoughts and unstarted business. They flit and dance and spin. They cause me to lose hours. I have plans, sometimes. Plans which involve phoning or texting or visiting or commenting. Somehow, the plans rarely make it past “I must…”.

These aren’t deep thoughts; I’m not going to turn into a philosopher, a guru, or a general know it all. In truth, that’s maybe part of the problem. Flitting and floating about like I am, I’m skimming the surface. Avoiding the depths.

Time for action, asserts the control freak.

I’m going to use NaNoWriMo NanuNanu November. I’m not going to write a novel. (Hold back those tears.) I’m going to take time to process some of the mess in my head. I’m going to write. I don’t know how many words I’ll write. I don’t know how much will make it here. I don’t know much about it yet.

I haven’t thought about it too much …

9 thoughts on “use what you need”

  1. Interesting, this is the second blog I visited today that mentioned National Novel Writing Month. 50,000 words in thirty days is quite a target, that makes 1666.6667 words a day. I wonder if the .6667 are all the tiny tiny ones?
    Wishing you good luck with the project!

  2. Yay! I’m starting today too – after I get my report done for work – though that doesn’t sound like a very committed or promising plan.
    I think you should start yours with those very attractive and colorful post-it notes!

  3. Yes – I think when I’ve caught up with all the neglected paperwork from work that I might start to write as well. That should make it around about this time next year. But – I’ll plan it in now, otherwise I may forget about it!! So – I wish you more success than I am likely to have!!

  4. Hooray for you! I’m not doing NaBloPoMo or NaNoWriMo, but I so value taking some time to dump my head out on paper. There should be a lever, or something. Or a USB port, via which I can do a sort of point-and-click brain dumping and move on with a fresh perspective. In the mean time, writing will have to do 🙂

what do you think?

