mushroom

I don’t like mushrooms normally. They’re dark and slimy and out of control. Also, they taste horrible.

The NI Rare Disease Partnership is mushrooming, in a good way. (It turns out that there is no appropriate image for that.) Every day there are new things to consider, to plan, to work towards. With every conversation, with each new connection, synapses spark and eyes dance. My brain is remembering how to think. I’ve never been creative, but I enjoy working with other people. Being in at the start of something, helping to begin, to try to make a difference, is exciting, rewarding, and affirming.

Of course, since I’m spending all my time volunteering, or lying down in a darkened room, recovering from volunteering, there is a strong possibility that actual mushrooms may be growing in the corners and in the crannies of the house. Maybe the house could become some some sort of self sustaining bio environment (that’s bound to be a thing, surely?) where mushrooms grow in the grub, the family eat mushrooms and I am saved from any domestic effort at all?

What do you mean, that’s not a good idea? Am I actually considering a bio hazard? Hmmm. I’ll let you know how we get on…

16 thoughts on “mushroom”

  1. It’s time for you to blossom as the partnership mushrooms (Bit of a mixed metaphor there; yes, biologists, I know mushrooms aren’t plants; never mind). Enjoy it. As somebody else said recently, this work suits you. The darkened room is sure to illuminate.

  2. Ha! I posted earlier this year about growing mushrooms in my pantry…real ones! So don’t rule it out 🙂 I think you are very creative. Working with others and being flexible in times of personal stress…volunteering…all take enormous amounts of creative energy. You are fulfilling an excellent purpose creating awareness and giving a face (I have a good imagination) to a necessary effort on behalf of others. I applaud resting in between. We’d all be better off for that! Debra

    1. I had a day this week where I did some hoovering and ironing and I felt like a domestic goddess! Now I don’t have to worry about it for another bit 🙂

  3. The residents of a shared house in which I lived in Cardiff split over the issue of mushrooms growing under the kitchen surfaces – from the underside of the kitchen surfaces. On the one had – ugh, disgusting, clean the whole place – on the other, hmm, interesting, wonder how big they’ll grow.

  4. I like me a good Portabella, but I’m not so keen on those other kind growing in my lawn. Seriously though, congratulations Speccy on feeling the spores- I mean fruits- of your labor make a difference in your life and in others. Volunteers are unsung heroes.

what do you think?

