hugs

To show affection, empathy, love.

To boost, support, bind together.

To encourage, support, celebrate, console.

The children my limbs and heart wrap around while they hug back, succumb wearily, or fidget.

The child I never got to hug.

 

 

Good morning hugs.

Work hard, have fun, be kind, love you, have a good day at school hugs.

Hugs from family, friends and colleagues that help us through dark times.

The discovery that hugs can be mental, or virtual- we can feel the supporting vibes even when we don’t actually have another’s arms around us.

That longed for final hug from Herself- a gift; a moment of joy in the grim sunny days of early July.

Welcome back hugs, even when we’ve only been to the shop.

Be brave hugs.

I’m proud of you hugs.

Night night hugs.

I will not play Tug O’ War,

 I’d rather play Hug O’ War;

Where everyone hugs, instead of tugs,

And everyone giggles and rolls on the rug.

Where everyone kisses, and everyone grins;

everyone cuddles, and everyone wins.

~ Shel Silverstein
14 thoughts on “hugs”

  1. Virtual hugs are awesome. I’ll always take them, Fiona. (And, I love Calvin and Hobbes. I stopped reading the cartoon section of the newspaper when Bill Watterson retired.)

    1. Because I’m a true professional, I used to have a C&H poster on my wall at work. There are 3 or 4 books here also. Second only to Winnie the Pooh in the all time cuddly greats 🙂

what do you think?

