what self esteem issues?

Bloggy buddies based in Ireland, nominations for the Blog Awards Ireland 2012 close soon. This is not a plea for a nomination as I had the brass neck to nominate myself as well as you lot.

Brazen? Wanting to make connections? Looking for a night out? Yes, that’s me.

I was inspired to start this blog after attending the last award ceremony. It was in Belfast; E and I thought it would be fun to spot the bloggers we read. We’d never get the chance to do something so daft again, so why not? We met people. We were welcomed. We laughed and carried on and stayed out very, very late. We felt part of things, even though neither of us wrote a blog, and we’d never heard of WordPress.

Well, I’m going again, this time as a real live actual blogger. E will be gadding about Asia, Spurs Fan wouldn’t go in a fit, so I’ll probably be solo. (I’ll need all the cheek that day if I’m not to simply hide in the bedroom with a book.)

I don’t think I’ve ever voluntarily entered a competition before. I seemed to think it would ‘legitimise’ my attendance somehow if I’d actually been nominated (even by myself!). I know that’s daft, and experience tells me it doesn’t matter- maybe I’m just learning to put myself out there a wee bit. There are 30 categories and there will be hundreds of nominees; I’m looking forward to discovering the variety of blogs and people.

I want to learn more about how to do this. How do I improve my writing, my technical ability? A few more readers might be nice, but I’m not promoting a brand or looking to make a living at this; I just want to make sense to somebody other than myself.

Let’s just hope that there’s enough of the bold and the bounce for me to enjoy and learn and chat.

Make your childcare/ sport/ work arrangements now- I’m looking forward to seeing you there. I may need someone to drag me downstairs.

20 thoughts on “what self esteem issues?”

    1. Thanks, IE 🙂 Yes, I’m not expecting it to be self congratulatory cliques (me, innocent?), but shared fun and learning. I’ll tell you all about it, either way!

  1. Fiona, I can’t wait to hear about this. You do have a passion that you’re trying to share with the world, and I think this will fuel both your fire and your vision. Good luck!!

  2. So -when is the Awards Ceremony? And – how do I go about nominating you? And – since you are now niminated – I expect you to win!! (Otherwise there will never be any hope for us lesser bloggers!) So – good luck in advance!

  3. Am astounded to hear such a thing exist in the tangible realm outside of blogdom. It is an interesting medium, which is probably why am giving it another shot. You belong there. And don’t forget to share, give council and support you have the legs to do so I believe; a freshmen no longer.

  4. I think your boldness is just a wonderful outgrowth of how you’ve been putting yourself out there with you blog! I wish I could vote for you and be there myself! You must tell us all about it! Good for you, Fiona. This is a big and creative step! Debra

    1. Thank you Debra, for all your warm wishes and support! I’ll have lots of news about it when I recover from the event 🙂
      30 categories! professionals! me!

what do you think?

