Matilda, the musical

.

When we were playing at being city kids over the last few weeks, we headed into London’s west end to see Matilda, the musical. Based on Roald Dahl’s novel ‘Matilda’, it tells of a booky child stranded in a non booky family, the horrors and joys of school, and escape through storytelling, superpowers, and the need to be a little bit naughty.

It is fabulous.

We cheered and booed and clapped. And swallowed a lump in the throat.

The set, lighting and choreography are wonderful. The show has won multiple Olivier awards.

But, oh, the music and lyrics by Tim Minchin? I am in awe. How does this possibly work as a lyric: “what you know matters less than the volume with which what you don’t know is expressed”? There’s no way that should work, but it does. Naturally, I bought the soundtrack, and we’ve been singing along ever since.

If you get a chance, go. You won’t even need to bring children.

10 thoughts on “Matilda, the musical”

  1. I love musical theater and I think much of my enjoyment settled over me when very young and my grandmother took me to regional children’s theater. I’m so glad you enjoy this as a family. I want to see the younger generation grow up with the same pleasure. This would have been a favorite for me, I’m sure! 🙂 Debra

what do you think?

