quality time

I don’t know about you, but the school holidays have me exhausted. All this getting up, chatting, doing things. Simply being with people all day. Listening, planning, participating. Fun and games.

I’m bumbling through, in a bit of a fog. A dopey, smiling fog (most of the time), but I’m of no use to man nor beast. I’m too busy looking for somewhere to sit down and put my feet up.

We went to a ‘Family Fun Park’ a few weeks ago.

(Did those words cause a cold hand of terror around your heart? A sweat on your upper lip? The beginnings of a migrane? Luckily, we’d been before and knew it was nothing to be anxious about, as long as we got there early. There is actual fun to be had.)

There were (deep breath) sheep and cows and ducks and go carts and a train and horses and llamas and rabbits and goats and hens and a fortress and a hay barnΒ and, best of all, multiple traditional farm trampolines.

During most of the excitement (cousins make everything much more exciting) I was in the coffee shop, or on a bench in the sun, wondering if I should go go for a wander. Then deciding that a book and painkillers would be the better option.

I’ve got emails about my voluntary work; I wonder about those too- how long will it take my mind to work out what they’re about? Maybe I should go to a meeting? Perhaps a little ambitious, but it might remind my brain to focus.

Of course, we all know that before too long all the routines will be back to normal and I’ll be wondering why we never do anything together.

When I wake up.

13 thoughts on “quality time”

    1. IE, I think blogging helps with the ‘appreciate’ part of things- I get to consider what’s going on in my world rather than simply drifting through

  1. I never thought I would be one of those parents who counted down the days until school resumes, but…. Yeah. The gift of this time is so wonderful. It might be easier to appreciate if there were a bit less of it, though πŸ˜‰

  2. I love the holidays, you can stay in bed a little longer and you’re not stapled to a tight schedule. But the price is: the kids are at home all day every day and that’s exhausting!

    The park looks nice!

  3. I guess I’m late to read and learn of your bloggy honors…good for you for being recognized. See? We keep telling you how much we enjoy your wry perspective. You have a clear voice that comes through and says a great deal…even when you think you’re just wandering! πŸ™‚ I think your thoughts on family time mirror most of us at times…I can get overwhelmed with all the fun outings with the grandchildren and family even now, loving every minute, ready for them to go home the next, and then missing them terribly when they are finally in their own slots! I can’t tell you what’s wrong with me either! πŸ™‚ D

what do you think?

