re-homing

Our wee mate Jake isn’t the only re-homing we’ve been up to.

Curtains, throws, cutlery, crockery and cushions have all found a new home.

Some items have been rescued from the roof space, the charity shop, the supermarket. We even removed the living room curtains to re-home them. (You have no idea how long I’ve wanted to get rid of re-home them.)

Essential items like a coffee pot and a bright yellow pottery water jug were purchased.

Since everyone’s definition of “essential” is different, so was a satellite dish.

The revolting, patterned, smelly curtains have finally been replaced with clean, plain “they’ll do” curtains. The hoover has lifted years of grub.

We spent Saturday afternoon looking out at the rain, reading books, playing games and watching the paralympics. We’re comfortable;ย the caravanย feels like ours now.ย It’ll never be gorgeous, but then we didn’t pay for gorgeousness. We paid for a break from routine, an escape to the sea and the hills, a breath of fresh air every now and then. We’re getting that.

The caravan has been re-homed too.

20 thoughts on “re-homing”

  1. You are really selling this to me, I’m green. Can I ask how long it takes you to drive to Donegal from Belfast? It seems a lot more tranquil than North Antrim. When I say tranquil, I mean not full of people I know.

    1. Debbie, that is the best definition of tranquil ever!
      We go by Omagh, Pettigo and Donegal town. Hour and 15 to Omagh, stop at Asda for buying whatever we forgot/ more wine/ snacks/toilet break/ stretch legs. Another hour and 15 to the caravan. Because we were up and down to Omagh all the time for my mum, that bit doesn’t really feel significant at all. Door to door in under 4 hours is long enough, but worth it to us. It does really feel ‘away’.
      Our site is remote, and caravan man has vans in all price ranges… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Ah, bunting! Oil-cloth! The place looks wonderful; I wish, wish wish I could pop in for a plate of Mr Kipling cakes. And I do like today’s new word, ‘rehome’. Unwanted gifts will quake before me now.

    1. Call in anytime! It’ll probably take you longer to get there than us and you may not need to escape to the sea, but you’re always welcome.
      Of course, if you need an escape to a small city, I’ll send a girl to the corner shop right now for tasty things ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Brilliant photo – room for more! And thanks for what you said on my post, made me feel I can get stuff right some of the time. I see I have to get my vocabulary up-to-date too

    1. I was labouring the point of course, stretching the word to fit. If I was a crafty sort I’d probably have been upcycling or somesuch, but that wouldn’t really fit for the dog ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. When we were looking at it initially, we were so impressed by the space that we didn’t really notice the crumbliness, but now it’s clean and the worst bits disguised, so I’m well pleased with it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Looks great. I’m very jealous – it all sounds sooo inviting and such a welcome break from routine/hustle-bustle. An enforced change of pace – isn’t this therapy the National Health Service should be buying for us??

  5. Much more spacious than our trailer! I also say that we didn’t pay for luxury…but it gets us away from home and provides us just what we need! Love the repurposing…I consider that today’s socially conscious chic! ๐Ÿ™‚ D

    1. We are enjoying it Emma.Since the digital changeover is happening soon anyway, it was easy to talk ourselves into a Lidl satellite dish- we only went in for a fozen pizza ๐Ÿ™‚

what do you think?

