for Savita

I didn’t know you, but I could have been you.

I didn’t know you, but I mourn you.

I didn’t know you, I will never know you.

.

You have been taken from your family and the world.

You were taken by fear, legal vagueness, and cowardice of policy makers.

Your death, in this time and place, was preventable.

.

This should not have happened.

This was immoral.

This brings shame on us all.

.

On 28 October, Savita Halappanavar died from a blood infection resulting from a prolonged miscarriage. A medical termination of the pregnancy was not carried out. It seems that Savita was miscarrying, her health was at risk, but because there were still signs of a foetal heartbeat, hospital staff in Galway weren’t able to help. Two investigations are underway.

12 thoughts on “for Savita”

    1. BTW, a profound an stark manner to present the immensly sad death of Savita Halappanavar. Right from the heart and from the gut.

  1. Fiona, this makes me feel sick. I am so tremendously sad to hear this. Sometimes I am brought up short with my own ignorance. Thank you for enlightening me. I take an awful lot for granted. This story truly hurts my heart.

what do you think?

