three score years and ten

Yesterday (Monday) would have been Herself’s 70th birthday. We’d have had bunting and balloons and fun and family and love and laughter, if only she’d been with us. But she’s not. I had a little snivel or two instead. And maybe a big one.

the lovebirds

So, it’s just as well we had that big tea party three years ago. The one we decided to go for when we realised that we couldn’t wait to celebrate. Of course, we had to pretend it wasn’t what we knew it to be; luckily the Brother had a 40th birthday- a great excuse to gather the friends and relations, put up the decorations and eat cupcakes.

all the tea pots

In the snow and ice, people came from all arts and parts. We put on the style and partied for Herself.

family

I’m so glad we did.

21 thoughts on “three score years and ten”

  1. Good memories, great use of heirloom teacups! And I recall Herself’s 60th – more good memories, great use of wine glasses..

    1. a sociable soul, she enjoyed a good party! There was big excitement that day as the girls in the nursing home helped do her hair and I did make up and we took orders about jewellery, bags etc 🙂

  2. You made me pause. Smile and consider my own circumstances with my parents. I know that was not your intentions but that was the result. Thank you.

  3. I am so glad to see the photos as well. She remains such a large presence in your life, and to those of us who know you through your writing, she is a big presence to us, too. I think you remind us all not to pass on any opportunity to be together with family or friends. And when illness comes into the picture, it’s time to grab hold of every special moment. And you did. oxo

  4. Fiona what another great event in this journey – although this was the one to beat them all . Your mum looked so elegant , even with the challenges of PSP before her. She was beautiful always.
    For those who read your blogs – addicts like me read daily ! – a great read is “Tuesdays with Morrie” by Mitch Albom (? sp. ). The book was recommended to me by Bishop Edward Daly who brought spiritual care to my Dad in Foyle Hospice. The Professor in the story had a neurological degenerative condition , not dissimilar to PSP , and I always think of this when reminded of you Mum’s party. Tough reading at times for those of us who have loved and lost to progressive illnesses , but enlightening. Like your blogs my friend.x

what do you think?

