nordic noir

You know the kind of thing- Scandanavian crime fiction, and moody tv programmes. I love it.

Henning Mankell’s Wallander tales, and other stories. Stieg Larsson’s ‘The Girl…’ trilogy. Jo Nesbo’s Harry Hole, somehow crimefighting. Three tv versions of Wallander. The Bridge. The Killing. Even Spurs Fan has got comfortable with subtitles, and knows the difference between Swedish police outfits and Danish ones.

Having read the books and watched all the television versions, there was only one thing left to do. Buy the jumper.

Sarah_Lund_promo

It’s true, Sarah Lund, the main character in the series The Killing, has more than one jumper, but this is the one that sparked a fashion trend. Shops are full of Lund-esqe woollies, and I have been resisiting the urge.

Why? Because chunky patterned knits do nothing for me. I have learned, after many years apprenticed to a stylish lady, that there are some garments I need to avoid. However my inner whocaresaboutwhatitlookslikeit’llbefun has been causing me to linger longingly at itchy tops.

Thankfully, a solution has been found. I could not justify spending real money on an ugly jumper to watch tv in. I’m usually watching tv in pyjamas, cosy by the fire.

Oh yes, I did. Cheap, fleecy pjs, with a pretend scandi stripe.

pjs

My mother would still have been horrified, but I’d distract her with the cute dog…

12 thoughts on “nordic noir”

  1. If I weren’t so vain I’d take a photo of the jammies I’m wearing right now. Yours are MUCH cuter! I’m as gone over some of the same shows…we get them long after you do, but eventually! I don’t think I pay enough attention to the fashion! 🙂

what do you think?

