alice in wonderland

Sometimes I have a wooziness. A lightheaded wobble. An oversensitivity to noise and light. A general ‘not quite right’ ness. It’s nothing remarkable, just part of the world of ME and low blood pressure.

Of course, once somebody called it ‘Alice in Wonderland Syndrome’, I decided that it/ I was really very remarkable, and worthy of further investigation.

Dr Search Engine reassures me that I have nothing quite so poetic, but AIWS is a real live actual neurological issue, possibly well known by those of you with nasty migranes.

The world appears distorted- body image, space, time and perspective are all wrong and it can be very debilitating.

from: http://pinterest.com/pin/147492956516988681/
from: http://pinterest.com/pin/147492956516988681/

Seeing the world through a fisheye lens made day-to-day life very difficult. Unable to judge distances accurately, I would often move clumsily or overcompensate. Soon I found it a struggle to leave the house; I had difficulty correctly perceiving the ground, so walking was tricky. If I didn’t think about it I was OK, but as soon as I did, I found myself slumping and struggling to walk in a straight line. Crossing the road began to feel dangerous; when I saw a car coming, I had no idea what size it was, or how far away.

AIWS can last for years, or be a feature of neurological conditions, but is most commonly experienced by children and young people who grow out of it eventually.

A world of weirdness and wonder indeed.

written in response to Sidey’s weekend theme, through the rabbit hole

15 thoughts on “alice in wonderland”

    1. When my BP was checked recently, the nurse commented on how low it was. Despite that being normal for me, I spent the whole of the rest of the day feeling queazy and about to faint. I had to hold on to a fence to stay upright when out with Jake. Suggestible? Me?

  1. If you’re having any of those weird experiences, they must be very difficult to deal with. When just the act of walking or crossing the road is a laborious undertaking, it must turn life into quite an obstacle course.

    1. I have been known to walk into 4 lanes of traffic because I wasn’t concentrating enough- I’m now very careful to only cross at lights when the wee man is actually green, not when I expect him to be -but to not know where the ground is???? Freaky

  2. How frustrating, and even frightening this must be when it literally consumes your senses, Fiona. I have a very close friend, like a sister, with a severe head injury. She describes these same symptoms when she has any emotional overload. Her TBI makes her more emotionally sensitive, too, so the symptoms feed the anxiety and the anxiety then feeds the symptoms. I think in any severe health condition living with this type of distortion to your visual field and balance would be a huge struggle. Your Alice reference is the perfect way to illustrate.

what do you think?

