a little bird told me

A forwarded email arrived on Sunday evening, without comment. There was no need for comment; we’ve had the conversation several times.

Within the hour I’d complied with the rules. I’d had to think, create and argue. Scribbles in purple ink, transferred to a form.

Spurs Fan rolling his eyes in despair. it’s possible that the vague, sleepy, brain fogged me is easier to deal with than the excited, inspired, “I can do all the things” me.

I’ve applied for a bursary to attend the John Hewitt summer school in July.

image from:http://www.vinecentre.org/famous_faces_of_the_vine.html
image from:http://www.vinecentre.org/famous_faces_of_the_vine.html

Art, culture, politics, contributing to development and change in society. And creative writing workshops.

That little bird knows me too well.

I’m preparing to take the plunge.

Bloggy buddies, prepare for chaos if I get accepted.

.

.

Sidey’s weekend theme (for last weekend): a little bird told me

40 thoughts on “a little bird told me”

      1. You’ll have to get it – I’m hoping for an invite to the book launch on the programme & if I do get one, I’m only going if you’ll be there too …

  1. Hope you succeed with the bursary – I’ll cope with the envy! When I started writing I also read more than previously – loved this one
    NOTE ON INTELLECTUALS (1932)

    I passed a poet in a dismal street
    and envied him his proud and happy air.
    He saw no oily gutter at his feet,
    nor feared the sickly harlot’s hungry stare.

    Then in a nearby window hung a cage.
    A prisoned skylark made my anger wake.
    I slowed my pace to share the poet’s rage:
    but he strode on… intent upon his Blake.

    Not you thank goodness – enjoy (think my favourite JH is The Hawthorn Tree)

  2. Having now had a look at the link, I am wishing I could go there too. The poetry extract immediately made me think of my mum, and how she said she felt when she first came to England. On second thoughts, it’s probably a good thing I can’t come. I’d probably cry all the time!

    1. It is, Janie. I’m really interested in this year’s theme, but if it doesn’t work out, I can probably be interested in next year’s too 😉

    1. Thanks, Laurel. I almost can’t believe I put myself out there like that. I didn’t have time to think about it too much, which is probably the only reason it got done at all 🙂

  3. Oh yes!!! And I will be very very cross with the organisers if you aren’t awarded a bursary…but I am also very very sure you will be successful so the organisers are safe 🙂

    1. Thanks, Jim. I don’t know how many bursaries are available, or how many appilcants they normally get, or, indeed, very much about it at all. But it’s a step.

  4. Wishing you every success in getting the bursary and then on to greater things; even if that means chaos. If you get a chance, and can be dragged away during a break, call up and see me; or I can come down for a coffee.

what do you think?

