enjoying school

Why was I anxious?
5 days of literature, politics, art.
Dear god; The Poetry

I’ve been lost in a world of words this week. Bouncing, Tigger like, through creative writing, fiction readings and stats on the Northern Ireland peace process. I may even have done chair dancing to acappella close harmony singing.

I have spent days surrounded by proper writers. If I didn’t own some of their work, I do now. (In my anxiety, the book buying opportunities had escaped me.)

I am enthusiastic and inspired. I want to do much, much more of this.

I’m going to be a writer when I grow up.

I’m coming back next year.

24 thoughts on “enjoying school”

    1. I’m still bouncing- I had such a good time. I wasn’t all alone and timid and scared and overwhelmed. There are so many literary type events on that I’m only discovering and, obviously, I want to do it all. Now. Right this minute. I will deflate soon enough…

    1. Oh, you should Emma- as well as the writing and the readings and the thinking and the chair dancing, I had 4 nights in a hotel. On my own. I did get videos of kiddy rows, but I was miles away… Start negotiating with loverboy now πŸ™‚

  1. Never met a poet. What do they look like?

    The thing about writers, painters, poets, dancers on through and including graffiti taggers, all mark the tree of life much like lovers leave their declaration in bark. If this your declaration, then we’re going to hold you to it. And happily watch the dancing, along with the trundling -bring it on.

    1. Hudson, turns out they’re normal folk! Since I’ve known Dawnriser http://chasingavianvoices.wordpress.com/ and Maria http://mariamcmanus.wordpress.com/ for many years, before they became published, I had suspected as much, but even better known poets than they are regular. I wanted to take more than one home with me.
      Like a pet. I’d give them a bit of food, they’d share the cluttered table and then bombard me with wonderful arrangements of words. However, being normal folk, they have lives and plans that don’t include my house πŸ™‚

    1. I’m due a great crash! An energy crisis which may cause a confidence crisis. Then, I will look back at this and try bouncing again πŸ™‚

    1. I was so anxious, and so fearful of being overwhelmed, that some of the joy is undoubtedly fuelled by relief! After the first workshop I thought ‘I can do this’ and I really settled into the whole thing.

what do you think?

