how do I talk about the poets?

Medbh Mc Guckian

Simon Armitage

Sandeep Parmer

Penelope Shuttle

James Byrne

Órfhlaith Foyle

Noel Monaghan

Pat Boran

(There was no room in my head to hear Conor O’Callaghan– I need to check him out for myself.)

found at: http://www.wordsdance.com/2013/07/50-powerful-quotes-about-poetry.html
found at: http://www.wordsdance.com/2013/07/50-powerful-quotes-about-poetry.html

I bought poetry books. I laughed. I cried. I was more than a little baffled.

I was spellbound.

Go, investigate. even if you think you’re not into poetry, you will find something to nourish and inspire you.

I would pay good money to hear Simon Armitage, Penelope Shuttle, James Byrne, Órflaith Foyle or Pat Boran again.

7 thoughts on “how do I talk about the poets?”

  1. A fine haul of poets. Armitage was one of my first finds, along with John Hollander and Kenneth Fearing. He still speaks from my shelves. Best of all, I think, is hearing a poem you already care for spoken by its author, and finding different nuances in his or her delivery.

    1. I’m ashamed to say that I wasn’t familiar with any of these beforehand, not even Armitage. How could that have happened? Too many crime novels…
      I have been buying poetry since- my amazon algorithm will be confused- because books sold out at the event. Penelope Shuttle and Órflaith Foyle had sold out before I’d even left the auditorium, such was their quiet power.
      Glad to see you back writing and commenting, Mise. I hope all is well in your world.

what do you think?

