I can’t sing. I sing anyway.

The regular reader will know that I am an enthusiastic, but tuneless, singer. I harmonise happily with Emmylou and Adele and Cerys, content that no one can hear me.

You can imagine the disbelief of my family when I announced that I was joining a choir.

Seriously.

Me. A choir.

(This pause is given to you so the Brother can catch his breath, stop laughing, and wipe his eyes.)

The Choir Director responded to my email query by telling me me I was just the sort of person for the choir.

I bounced around the house. Tigger was back.

J collected me. I did happy chair dancing and a little excited squeaking on the way. I was joining a choir. My singing was bound to improve. I’d be bonded and achieving and creative.

I was handed a sheaf of music. Hmm.

I sat beside J. We decided I could be an alto too- it’s not like I was going to hit any notes anyway.

People. Nobody told me singing was hard work.

Two hours of concentrating. Two hours of not quite knowing what was going on. Two hours of trying to sing something other than the familiar melody. A little bit of miming when it began to sound too awful.

I was exhausted.

It seems that to be in a choir one needs to be able to sing or to think. Oops.

I only did the one night. My singing was woeful, but I’m used to that. It was too much to expect me to concentrate at a time I’d normally be ready for bed.

The outside world is safe from my singing for another while.

18 thoughts on “I can’t sing. I sing anyway.”

  1. Aw! I was hoping for you! Singing is good for endorphin-boosting, but I guess if it turns out to be stressful that is a bit convoluted! Just turn the radio up as loud as you want and sing your heart out. Maybe the choir would have distracted you from your writing!

  2. I’ve sung with all the big names….. alone in the confines of my own home! Then I wonder why the police car slowly patrols past my window, I better quieten down or the men in white coats might be next!

    1. I was so excited that there was no audition- just come on and sing your heart out. I do hope to go back someday. It was a shock to not be defeated by the singing 🙂

  3. Oh I am so sorry. In BI we do ‘paperless’ singing. It is also stressless and perfectionless. All notes are ‘harmony’. We do need a couple of tune carriers but they are not me. [It is more like nursery school with jigging around and hand action if we feel like it] I hope you carry on singing by yourself until you find another space – endorphins get going.

    1. Once a colleague was coming along a windey corridor in an old work building, and said she knew I was coming the other direction before she saw me- apparently I always sang to myself as I moved about. In public. Without thinking. It was the thinking that got to me that night!

  4. I much prefer listening to singing than doing it myself, Fiona, and I’m convinced you aren’t as bad at it as I am. However, I get the feeling you’re writing about Extreme Singing, which is something I wouldn’t touch with a barge pole – even if I had the velvetest vocal chords in all the land!

  5. Worth persevering, Fiona. I have been singing in choirs for most of my life and the first visit is always bewildering. Mainly because everyone else has been doing this, with this choir, for donkey’s years. Go a few times, and it all begins to get a bit more familiar.
    And the kick when you know the tune and the words and sing the right thing with everyone else around you: I don’t know anything like it.
    My favourite piece of music: I sang it with my scariest choir ever.

what do you think?

