just around the corner

Terraces, flats, redbrick semi detached houses, busy streets. Not far away is a main arterial route for the city, with pubs, coffee shops, supermarkets, banks and chemists. Apparently I live in an ‘urban village’.

ormeau bakery

On our morning rambles Jake and I pause in front of the flats with the flags. He occupies himself doing the things that dogs do, and I look about me. At the trees and along the river, across to the park, the sports centre, the theatre and the more expensive terraces.

In the distance are the hills, the grassland and bog that surround Belfast. It’s a small city, and I love that countryside is never far away.

from: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Lagan_Meadows_-_geograph.org.uk_-_75736.jpg
from: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Lagan_Meadows_-_geograph.org.uk_-_75736.jpg

Up river from us is Lagan Meadows, a nature reserve alongside the towpath, and opposite Belvoir Forest.

belvoir squirrel

I blog a lot about the seaside and my need to escape to the beach, but I am kept sane and grounded by viewing the everyday wilderness in the city. I just need to get out and explore it more.

15 thoughts on “just around the corner”

  1. I agree – especially I find that just wandering about where there is grass or a hedge or tree keeps me sane. Like you I love the beaches, but the way plants grow anywhere and everywhere in their own sweet way is a joy.

  2. That’s how I see it, too, Fiona. Nature leaves little footprints everywhere. I live in an almost claustrophobic megatropolis, but I see some of the most wondrous, and often very unexpected little visitors. I, too, would like a little more time to explore. I loved your photos!

  3. That’s a brill pic of the squirrel!! I work at the edge of the city – not far from you – amidst that wonderful ‘rurban’ wilderness. Looking out of our office windows at any given time we have magical sightings of the squirrels fearlessly hopping from grass to tree. Relaxing and therapeutic!

what do you think?

