the lull

“Santa” has been and gone and done. Parcels have been unwrapped. Chaos has been created. Mince pies have been eaten. Potatoes  have been peeled.

I went back to sleep after the presents. I had considered getting washed and dressed then, but my body had other ideas. A while later I had a shower (our new shower produces actual hot water, and it’s still a novelty) and we went out. Red dresses are the Christmas outfit of choice for middle aged women in our parish.

The turkey is cooking slowly. Soon I’ll have to go and take an active part in proceedings, but I love this quiet bit. Things are taking care of themselves, bubbling and roasting. Girls have been playing with gadgets and sparkles, and will help Nana and Grandad with creating a starter. A mid afternoon meal is eminently sensible. Relaxed, gentle and leaving plenty of time for onesies and board games.

I hope you get to spend today as you’d like. Be gentle with yourself. Hug whoever you have with you (pets and cuddly toys included).

Merry Christmas, bloggy buddies.

 

2 thoughts on “the lull”

  1. Your Christmas sounds warm and lovely! I am so glad for you…and for a warm shower! 🙂 We had a little more chaos than usual, with Jay spending a brief time in the hospital with pneumonia–sprung on Christmas morning. I minor problem in the grand scheme and all is well now. Starting the new year full of “thanks” and glad to come around and wish you a very good new year–full of hope for many good things. And I love the look of your blog, Fiona! It’s splendid! ox

what do you think?

