catching up with me & Meryl

Bloggy buddies, I have news. It’s been a year since my hair was dyed, and apart from a little blonde hint on the longer bits, my hair is totally white/grey. I made an effort the other day and wore dangly earrings and, lo, I was described as ‘elegant’. I’m bigger than ever and blessed with mad white hair, but hey, ‘elegant’! And then, since she was on a roll, D decided that I was like Meryl Streep in The Devil wears Prada. Meryl at her most haughty and hilarious. Result. I’m going to work on that. More accessories, maybe?

Of course, that was at our 3rd Friday in a row of dancing events. We may all have been simply hysterical. I start off keen and motivated, but after about four hours I want to lie down in a darkened room and wimper. The music is beautiful, and some of the dancing is fabulous, stilling a crowded room. The days are long- the grown ups need as much stamina as the dancers- and we get expert at finding the fun, making it all a bit of an adventure, and finding elegance in dangly earrings.

We’ve had holidays. Not the sort that involve planes, excitement, or suncream; simply times when the schools are closed. I find holidays challenging. In with all the fun and loveliness, and the joy of all being together, there’s the fact that we’re all together, all the time. I’m used to being on my own a lot, not required to be awake, dressed or communicating. Holidays change that. This Easter we had several days in the west, experiencing all the weather- hail, rain, wind, sunshine, cold and brief moments of warmth. Board games, ice cream, beaches, and enjoying actually being able to see the Black Friday television.

Next week the volunteering starts again. We have strategic plans to make, funding to find, charity registration to complete, lectures to give, a major European conference to attend, and other things I can’t remember or don’t know about. The busyness is on its way back, if only I can keep up.

meryl4

5 thoughts on “catching up with me & Meryl”

  1. Come on – no picture of your own dangly earrings? I’ll be looking out for the next post and trying not to envy Meryl Streep (or yourself) too much

  2. A friend of mine just stopped coloring her hair, went white/grey, with more grey than white, and now sports about three inches of a deep royal blue on the ends. She’s no “young thing” but she’s just adorable. I love the confidence with which she sports such an unconventional look. Whatever you do, do it with confidence and you’ll rock it! Any vacation time is good if you’re ramping up for more volunteering. I’ll be looking for an update on your European conference! Exciting!

  3. I concur just saw The Devil wears Prada again few days ago You’d make a great Meryl twin not sure about mannerisms but Physically Yes and you have her Sass😛 Keep blogging and volunteering and making all of us laugh and/or stand proud bcuz “one of us”is gettin’ it done and doing it well.Kiss Jake >^. .^< woof!!

what do you think?

