lletz:tmi, tbh

There are many abbreviations in our world. I don’t know or care about most of them. Some are convenient, others I learn about as I need to.

Today, as a result of CIN2, I get a LLETZ. Excited? I’m not.

There’s nothing wrong with me, and screening & early treatment aim to keep it that way. But still…

Cervical intra-epithelial neoplasia (CIN) is a term used to describe changes in the surface (squamous) cells of the cervix.

CIN is graded depending on how deep the cell changes go into the surface of the cervix:

  • CIN 2 – this is when two-thirds of the thickness of the surface layer of the cervix is affected.

Large loop excision of the transformation zone (LLETZ) is the most commonly used treatment. It’s done with local anaesthetic, and takes 5-10 minutes.

See, nothing wrong with me that a needle and random bits of surface removing equipment won’t sort.

freaked out

But it’s my cervix, it’s this morning, and I’m a little freaked out.

Yip, too much information. Sorry, bloggy buddies.

Post script

As you may imagine, I survived the needle, the extraction, the unexpected electrical current & the chatting to keep me distracted. I have a hot water bottle and shall spend the day watching trashy tv. A normal day at the mcspec household…

3 thoughts on “lletz:tmi, tbh”

  1. Hooray, hurrah for the early intervention and the ‘nothing wrong-ness’ of your diagnosis 🙂 But yes never nice to have to discuss one’s delicate bits using verbs or adjectives which don’t convey ‘feather-light touch’ !

what do you think?

